Frederic Mompou International Award 2013 Results

Frederic Mompou International Award Results

The jury of the 34th Young composer competition for the Frederic Mompou International Award, organized by Joventuts Musicals de Barcelona, met. The panel of judges was made up of Eduardo Diago, Martín Matalón, Josep Rio, Miquel Roger and Jesús Rueda, and assisted by Miquel M. Badal in his position as secretary of the jury. Once the 23 pieces in competition were analysed and the opportune voting took place, the jury decided by majority to grant the following awards: the Frederic Mompou International Award went to the piece Pulsar Phigurae, written by Italian composer Raffaelle Grimaldi, presented under the pseudonym Ragri. Furthermore, as a reflection of the quality of their works, two honourable mention awards were granted to Rubens Askenar for his score Del reflejo ignoto and presented under the pseudonym Bioko Bomwás , and the other to Dimitris Economou for his score Eigengrau, Sonata for violin & piano and presented under the pseudonym ABA.


Barcelona, November 25th, 2013